more proof of voicemail’s ongoing death

My sister just returned recently from the Peace Corps, and my parents wanted to bring her back into our present technological age by getting her an iPhone.  Actually, my mom donated her old 3G so she could get the new 3GS.  But that’s beside the point.

The thing is, my sister has now had the phone for a month and she has not set up voice mail.  When I asked her why, she said she ‘hates taking the time to listen to voice mail,’ and she ‘wishes everyone would just text her.’

So voicemail is going out of vogue, as most people have already realized, but I wanted to pause and observe its hideous and protracted death in my own family microcosm.

One thought on “more proof of voicemail’s ongoing death

  1. I feel the same way as your sister, though I realize some folks (my grandparents and some clients) still need a way to leave me a message through voicemail because they aren’t savvy enough to text. That’s where Google Voice and its automatic transcription comes in to save me, it lets them leave a message and sends me a txt or email with the transcribed contents, if I want to review it from a computer I can as well. Works GREAT for me, and gives them that small comfort of hearing my voice before they leave me a message.

Leave a Reply

