My Info Vis Commentary – ‘Visual storytelling in healthcare: Why we should help patients visualize their health’

I was honored to be asked to submit a commentary to the Info Vis journal, based on the original ‘health history timeline’ posts that I’d written on this blog:

After years of dabbling and being interested in data and information visualization, it was very exciting to be able to contribute to this academic journal. I decided to position the article as an appeal to ‘info viz’ types to help patients better understand and communicate about their health, and I added some additional content based on some new experiments I’ve been doing with using paper worksheets to express my symptoms.

Screenshot 2015-07-28 20.19.24

The commentary is published online in PDF format here. Check it out, and tell me what you think in the comments!

Leave a Reply

